Back in BCN…. What did I miss?

It feels like a while since the last post, and things are a bit hectic these days, so I’ll take the opportunity – not to tell you anything that might actually inform or entertain you – but to let you know that I’m still alive and back in Barna…

Yep after what turned out to be a very hardcore trip to Poland (is there any other type?), during which, apart from the inevitable drinking, flirting and eating pierogi, my computer broke, plus I had to run around the city like crazy in minus 15 conditions trying to get a tonne of work done, I finally made it to the UK for Christmas – despite a two day delay due to a light smattering of snow at Gatwick (which is f@cking ridiculous because it was full-on artic conditions in Krakow and everything was working fine). Was nice to be back home for a bit I must confess, but after a couple of weeks of mum’s cooking I was finally ready to leave the pristine cleanliness of the parental nest for the grimy hovel I call home in Barcelona… there’s nothing like a stay chez mamma and pappa to make you realise just how crappy your own digs are. When I got back to Casanova Street (I’m not making up the name), there was the usual pile of washing up blocking both sinks (it’s kinda like a game of Jenga – you keep building higher and the person who knocks it down has to wash it all up) plus a bathroom which my housemates clearly hadn’t cleaned once, despite the fact I’d been gone for the best part of a month! Oh, and there was a cluster of flies hovering over a fruit bowl full of molding onions… nice. And my bedroom hasn’t got any bigger, lighter or better decorated since I left either…

Still, despite a bit of a shock on the ‘living conditions’ front it’s damn nice to be back in BCN… for one thing it’s not freezing cold like the UK/Poland, for two things I’m beginning to get that nice ‘home’ sensation when walking around the city, and thirdly (or ‘for three things’ if you like) I didn’t realise how much I was going to miss fuet sausages. Ooh, I’ve got one in the fridge now… Que rico! (Come to think of it I also miss numerous Spanish phrases starting with ‘que’).

Other than that it’s back to the usual round of work, work, football, work, work, spanish lessons, work, work, cervezas, work… I’ve got some nice ideas for some posts though and I’ll do my best to tinkle my keyboard with my dextrous digits a little more frequently in 2010. Keep it fr3ky people!

Leave a Reply

